The past year in football has seen some clubs’ star players carry their respective clubs on their backs and put in huge performances that have earned them someplace under the spotlight. Various players have done well to cement their reputations as very important players at their respective clubs.

Of these players, we have Kylian Mbappé and Neymar Jr. who both play for the French club Paris Saint-Germain. The duo has become huge stars for PSG having joined from AS Monaco and Barcelona respectively.

They were sublime for their club in the past year as they guided PSG to the final of the UEFA Champions League last season, losing the trophy to eventual Champions Bayern Munich. Their exploits last season have seen them get rewarded with a place in the Best FIFA Men’s Player Award shortlist.

The award is presented to the most outstanding player in a given season in men’s football and is a highly prestigious one. They join a host of other players who have all done well to deservedly earn their spot on the list, as announced by the organization on Wednesday.

Everyone’s bet to win the award currently is Bayern Munich’s Polish striker Robert Lewandowski after the tremendous season he had with the European Champions last campaign. The former Borussia Dortmund striker guided his side to a domestic treble last season, finishing as the league’s top scorer.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award Nominees

  1. Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus
  2. Lionel Messi – Barcelona
  3. Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich
  4. Thiago Alcântara – Bayern Munich, Liverpool
  5. Kevin de Bruyne – Manchester City
  6. SadioMané – Liverpool
  7. KylianMbappé – Paris Saint-Germain
  8. Neymar – Paris Saint-Germain
  9. Sergio Ramos – Real Madrid
  10. Mohamed Salah – Liverpool
  11. Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool



Leave a Reply